Texas Law for DWI Offenders Found Guilty

Houston, Texas is known for its size as sprawling mega-metropolis, friendly people, great restaurants, professional sports teams, and its lesbian mayor. Along with all those fine things about our great city is one other thing, the massive street & road network that runs throughout the city connecting localities like Galveston, League City, Sugar Land, The Woodlands, and Kingwood.

One of the main concerns of the Harris County Sheriff’s Office, The Galveston County Sheriff‘s, and the Houston Police Department, is public safety when it comes to dealing with people who are caught illegally driving under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants in the Houston-Galveston area.

When people commit the criminal offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) the lives of innocent people are put at risk making these type of criminal offenses the prime targets of police in the Harris County region. There are stiff criminal penalties if you’re ever found guilty of DUI in Houston, or Galveston (State of Texas).

Criminal Penalties For DWI in Texas

1st DWI Offense

In Texas, the 1st DWI offense is normally charged as a Class B Misdemeanor so long as there isn’t a child in the car, an accident, injury, or death, was caused as a result.

Potential penalties include a county jail sentence of anywhere from 3-180 days, and a fine of up to 2000.00. In the event that a minor is in the vehicle, the criminal act of intoxicated manslaughter occurs, or a person sustains an injury, a felony criminal charge will apply.

DWI With a Minor On Board

If you are ever arrested for suspicion of DUI in Houston or Galveston, and you have a child in the vehicle, you will be charged as a felony regardless of the situation. The potential fine if you are found guilty can be up to 10,000.00 with prison time of anywhere from six months to two years to be administered by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ).

DWI Manslaughter

If you kill someone due to DUI, the punishment will be harsh if you’re found guilty in the court of law in the great state of Texas. Many people who find themselves caught up in the Texas criminal justice system for these type of cases often believe that Galveston, Houston, League City DWI specialist attorney Tad Nelson is an expert on DWI cases, and end up hiring the law firm as a result of “word of mouth” based on them being one of the best DWI law firms in the nation.

The reason – the criminal penalty for a person convicted of DUI Intoxicated Manslaughter can be a massive 10,000.00 (USD) fine, a second degree felony charge, and a gargantuan sentence of up to 20 years in facility operated by the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.

2ND DWI Offense

If you find yourself under arrest a 2nd time for “driving under the influence” in the state of Texas, and end up being convicted in the court of law, the penalties you will be facing are as follows;

  • A monetary fine/penalty may be assessed at an amount not to exceed 4000.00.
  • The jail time associated with a 2 DUI offense in Texas can be anywhere from a 30 days sentence to up to 1 full year in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice run prison facility.
  • Another criminal consequence is the loss of your Texas Drivers License. Suspension of the driving privileges of people convicted of DUI for the second time can range from anywhere from 180 days to two years. A long time to go without the permission to drive in my view. In a city like Houston, if you are barred from driving you have been effectively neutered.

3rd DUI Offense

A person who is convicted for Driving Under the Influence for a 3rd time is in serious trouble. The criminal penalties for a person convicted for a 3rd DWI-DUI offense in the state of Texas can be likened to that of a serial killer. We’ve listen the penalties below.

  • The fines get bigger. On a 3rd Offense DWI, you’re looking at a 10,000.00 fine. A hefty sum of money regardless of why it is needed.
  • State Penitentiary. A 3rd DWI-DUI conviction result in a minimum of 2 years prison time with a potential for a sentence of up to 20 years.
  • Last but not least, your drivers license will be suspended for up to two years. Not that you will need it in prison, but it is the law that your drivers license is suspended if you are ever convicted of a DWI, DUI, or drug possession.

Facing DWI Charges in Houston, Texas

The prospect of going to jail can be a tough one for most of us, and certainly nothing anyone wants to look forward to simply because they had a night of fun. If you do have to deal with a criminal case because you were arrested for DUI, talk with a Galveston or Houston DUI attorney with experience fighting Texas-DUI charges, a relationship with the players in the Houston criminal justice community, and proven strategies for beating DWI charges with a record to prove the value of said stratagem.

Galveston DWI Lawyer | Houston DUI Attorney

You may also like